preston child

Krissy asked me which Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child book I recommended starting off with. I decided to answer here because maybe some other people would be interested in reading them. I feel that the order you read some of them is very important.

Here are their books, in order of publication:

  • Relic
  • Mount Dragon
  • Reliquary
  • Riptide
  • Thunderhead
  • The Ice Limit
  • The Cabinet of Curiousities
  • Still-Life with Crows
  • Brimstone

Five of the books (Relic, Reliquary, Cabinet, Still-Life, and Brimstone) are what I call the Pendergast books. Pendergast is an extremely cool and unusual FBI agent. He’s not the only main character that reappears in them. There are many repeat characters, along with new ones. The main female character in Cabinet is the main female character from Thunderhead. Other characters from the other books are mentioned in other books as well.

As for reading order…you should definately read the Pendergast books in order. I personally read Mount Dragon, Thunderhead, Riptide, and the Ice Limit out of order, but order of publication would be the best order to read them. Also be sure to read each section for each book on the website after you finished the book…some have web-only epilogues. If you only want to read the Pendergast books (they’re the best IMO) the only thing you’ll miss is getting some of the references to the other books and knowing more about who some of the characters are.

I hope some of you read them (or have read them already). They’re great!

Comments are closed.